July 2012

Marion Letha Milton Scholarship

Honoring a lifelong friendship prompted Bernardyne Vipperman to establish the Marion Letha Milton Scholarship at the University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma.

Loyal Daughters of OCW Scholarship

During their 50th reunion in 1999, the OCW class of 1949 established this scholarship. It is given to a senior student whose need is such that he/she cannot graduate without financial help.

Bernadene Protzman Lovell Scholarship

The Bernadene Protzman Lovell Scholarship was established by its namesake to be awarded to a USAO student majoring in early childhood or elementary education – preferably someone from Caddo or Grady County.

Lovell came to Verden, Oklahoma in 1907 on a train from Kansas. She taught her first year of school in Washita, Oklahoma, as well as Fort Cobb and Anadarko, Oklahoma.

Barbara Crouch Lies Scholarship

The Barbara Crouch Lies Scholarship honors the 1956 graduate and is awarded to a voice or music education major.

Anna Lewis Scholarship

The Dr. Anna Lewis Scholarship was established by her niece and former student Winnidell Gravitt Wilson, in honor of the OCW professor. The scholarship is designated for a female student of history and/or social studies.

Craig Foundation Scholarship

Mike and Jayne Craig of The Craig Foundation established this scholarship to be awarded based on need to a junior or senior student.

The Chickasha-based foundation established a permanent endowment to help fund the Davis-Waldorf Performing Arts Series in perpetuity, provided a grant to build the USAO electronic sign on Fourth Street, was instrumental in the renovation of Te Ata Auditorium, provided leadership funding for the reconstruction of the Greek Theatre and has participant in many other projects on the USAO campus.

Conover Sisters Scholarship

The Conover Sisters Scholarship was established in 2010 by Mildred Conover Watson and Una Conover Teter in honor of all four Conover sisters -- Mildred, Una, Shirley and Mary -- that altogether attended OCW for a decade (from 1946 to 1956).

Class of 1961 Scholarship

To celebrate their 50th class reunion, the 1961 class of the Oklahoma College for Women established the Class of 1961 Scholarship. The scholarship is award to a female student in any major.

Pulliam, Sturgeon earn scholar-athlete scholarship

Date Published: 
sports image

CHICKASHA – Two USAO student-athletes will find it a little easier to pay for college after receiving an exclusive scholarship: The Bill and Pat Smith Scholar-Athlete Scholarship.

Paige Pulliam, women’s basketball guard, and Seth Sturgeon, baseball pitcher, are this year’s scholarship recipients.

The scholarship is awarded each year to one male and one female USAO athlete who exemplify the concept of student-athlete. Candidates must make a significant contribution to their team, observe high standards of sportsmanship and earn a 3.0 GPA or higher.

Drover Nation Spirit Club meeting

Skip the meeting - GO TO THE BASKETBALL GAME!

The Drover Nation Spirit Club meets the first and third Tuesdays of the month at 8 p.m. in Troutt Hall 305.

Drover Nation is a club designed to help bring more Drover spirit to campus and seeks to provide enthusiastic support to campus events, especially those featuring our very own students. This includes sporting events, concerts, drama productions and other festivals and activities on campus. It is open to all students. Can’t wait to see you there!

11/20/2012 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm