August 2012

Barbara Faith Cunningham Forsythe Scholarship

The Barbara Faith Cunningham Forsythe Scholarship was established by her husband Homer to honor the 1961 OCW graduate. It is a tribute to her dedication and excellence as a teacher and for her inspiration to her students in their academic pursuits.


Te Ata Memorial Auditorium, Troutt Hall

08/23/2012 - 3:30pm - 5:00pm

Tutoring program sharpens student reading skills

Photo Cutline: 
Dr. James Finck (right), assistant professor of American history, confers with Jordyn Yates (center), senior elementary education major from Waxahachie, Texas about his daughter, Savannah’s (left) progress during a summer reading program. The program concluded with a parent-tutor conference on July 26.

Parents, children and university tutors met together last week at the University of Science and Arts to discuss progress made during the course of an eight-week reading improvement program.

Patricia Cooper Percy Scholarship

The Patricia Cooper Percy Scholarship was established by Percy to be awarded on the basis of need with a preference given to a music major.

Percy graduated from OCW in 1949. She was inducted into the USAO Alumni Hall of Fame in 1996.

OCLA Scholarship

The OCLA Scholarship was established by 13-member committee that planned the 2010 OCLA Reunion for students majoring in one of the fine arts. The scholarship is to honor the great experiment that was the Oklahoma College of Liberal Arts. In addition to the scholarship, several OCLA graduates also have worked to restore the lodge at the College Farm.

Merenda O’Bar -- Memorial Scholarship

Angelina Merenda O’Bar and her husband Jesse established this scholarship for students enrolled in USAO’s early childhood education program. Preference is given to students involved in USAO’s Student National Education Association (SNEA).

Angelina “Ann” O’Bar devoted her career to working with young children and their families as a child and parenting specialist.

Newman-Hill Scholarship

Mary Newman Fortenberry and Dorothy Hill Kerow established this scholarship to benefit a drama major at USAO.

More than 55 years and miles of travel separated two OCW roommates, yet their friendship continued. The pair celebrated that relationship with the establishment of the Newman-Hill Scholarship.