October 2012

David H. Vaughn, Jr. Scholarship

Honoring their son, David Sr. and Sofia established this scholarship to assist students wishing to visit another country.

Sofia Laurenzanna-Vaughn, a member of the USAO class of 1981, graduated with a degree in political science.  Sofia was born in Lawton, Oklahoma but grew up in Irving, Texas, graduating from Irving High School. 

Dr. Dorothy Tulloss Scholarship

Born April 11, 1910, in Sedan, Kansas, Dorothy graduated from Sedan High School in 1928.  She received a bachelor of fine arts degree in violoncello from the University of Oklahoma in 1931, where she also received a BFA in music education in 1932.

Roy and Ruth Troutt Scholarship

Retiring from USAO in 2000, President Roy Troutt’s 60-year career in Oklahoma education spanned seven decades, 11 U.S. presidents and 13 Oklahoma governors.

J. Harper and Mary Ellen Thomas Scholarship

The scholarship is awarded to a deaf education or speech language pathology major.

Dr. Clarice Tatman Scholarship

Like other women at OCW in 1930, Clarice Tatman turned history around. Reversing the historic practice of men playing women’s roles in Shakespearean theater, Clarice Tatman, in full and flowing beard, played an earnest-looking and dynamic lead in Shakespeare’s “The Merchant of Venice.”

Christina Satterfield Swanson Scholarship

If there was a true friend of an advocate for children, it was Christina Satterfield Swanson.  She devoted her life to the welfare of children.

Garland and Myrtle Stevens Scholarship

Myrtle Stevens, director of Alumni Relations at USAO for many years, established this scholarship in memory of her late husband Garland to those students in need.

A lifelong Gracemont resident, Garland was a farmer and rancher in Caddo County.  He was active in the church and community, serving on local and country boards.  He was a church elder and secretary.

Sue Caldwell Smith Scholarship

Sue Caldwell Smith, established the Sue Caldwell Smith Scholarship during the 2009 Alumni Homecoming.

Dr. Rose Marie Smith Scholarship

Friends and colleagues created the Rose Marie Smith Communication/Alumni Scholarship when she retired as professor emeriti in 1992. The award is for a junior or senior communication major.

With deep appreciation for their generous and thoughtful action, Dr. Smith accepted this named scholarship on behalf of the excellent professors she had as a student at the Oklahoma College for Women.

Nobbs Wellness Opening

Viewbook Image: