USAO offers nine PK-12 and secondary teacher certification programs:

  1. Art (PK-12)
  2. English (6-12)
  3. Mathematics (5-12)
  4. Music/Instrumental (PK-12)
  5. Music/Vocal (PK-12)
  6. Physical Education (PK-12)
  7. Science (6-12)
  8. Social Studies (6-12)
  9. Deaf Education (PK-12)

These are all standards-based programs, based upon the recommended guidelines and standards of the learned societies in each certification area and the findings from "Effective Teacher" research. With the exception of Deaf Education, students enrolling in these PK-12 and secondary certification programs should understand that these Certification Programs require completion of degree requirements in the certification area as well as certification requirements. The degree/certification program checksheets listed with each program provide a brief overview of program requirements. Students should consult the teacher education advisor in the respective area for further information.