Microsoft Office 2002
With Microsoft Outlook 2002 (and Outlook 2007), it's possible to leave a copy of each email message on the mail server after you read it.

You'll want to do this if you read e-mail in Outlook and another email program (or our Webmail system). If you don't set up Outlook to leave your messages on the server, it will delete the messages from the server as soon as it connects to read mail, and the other program (or Webmail) won't be able to see the messages again because they have been downloaded to Outlook on your computer.

This page explains how to set up Outlook to leave a copy of each message on the server. It assumes that your email account is already properly set up in Outlook on your computer.


Changing the Outlook settings

To leave messages on the server, you will:

  • Open the Advanced settings window for your mail account
  • Check the "Leave a copy of messages on the server" checkbox

 

1. Start the Microsoft Outlook program.

 

You can use the Start menu to start Outlook or double-click on its icon on the desktop. 
When it opens, click Tools, then E-Mail Accounts from the menu bar:

screen shot

2. The "E-mail Accounts" window appears.

Choose View or change existing e-mail accounts, then click Next.

screen shot

3. Open the settings window.

Highlight the account you want to change, then click Change to open the settings window.

screen shot

4. The "Internet E-Mail Settings (POP3)" screen appears.

The screen should already look like this:

screen shot

5. Open the Advanced settings screen.

Click the "More Settings" button, then choose the "Advanced" tab.

In the "Advanced" tab, check the Leave a copy of messages on the server checkbox.

To make sure copies of every message don't stay on the server forever (which can slow down your mail connections and use up your disk space allowance), we also recommend checking the box marked "Remove from server after X days". Choose a number of days that's long enough that you'll be able to read the messages in your other mail program (or Webmail).

Alternately, if you want to have our servers keep a copy of every message that you keep (don't delete) in Outlook — that is, to have our servers act as a backup system for the mail on your computer — you could check the "Remove from server when deleted from 'Deleted Items'" box instead of the "Remove from server after X days" box.

screen shot

6. Close the settings windows.

Click OK to close the "Internet E-mail Settings" window.

The "Internet E-mail Settings (POP3)" screen will then be visible. Click Next, then Finish.

Outlook setup is complete

You're finished! From now on, any mail that arrives should stay on the server, and you should be able to see it in your other mail program or Webmail.