Minerva Awards highlight student achievement

Seniors graduating with honors are honored at the recent Minerva Awards at the University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma. They are (front, from left) Laura Bennett, Sara Gibbs, Kylie Clark, Kaitlyn Worner, Beth Powell, (back, from left) Katie Sears, Jade Ovendale, Matthew Crow, Kiefer Burkhard, Emily Harrison and Kali Cook. Not pictured are Ashlee Cox, Johanna Jamarik, Lauren Kautz, Destiny Merkley, Christopher Pilkerton, Krayton Rodgers, Alejandro Rubio and Amanda Zink. The Minerva Awards provides public recognition for outstanding students at USAO.

Minerva Awards highlight student achievement


Students at the University of Science and Arts were honored for a variety of achievements during the eighth annual Minerva Awards ceremony April 9 in the USAO Ballroom.

The Minerva Awards provide public recognition for outstanding students at USAO. Students are honored for excellence in academics, community service, athletics, campus involvement and other areas.

In addition to individual honors, the ceremony recognizes honor society members, recipients of Who’s Who, seniors graduating with honors and Presidential Leadership Council members.

Kali Cook, Jade Ovendale and Christopher Pilkerton were recognized for graduating cum laude.

Graduating magna cum laude are Laura Bennett, Kylie Clark, Ashlee Cox, Destiny Merkley and Alejandro Rubio.

Graduating summa cum laude are Kiefer Burkhard, Matthew Crow, Sara Gibbs, Emily Harrison, Johanna Jamarik, Lauren Kautz, Beth Powell, Krayton Rodgers, Katie Sears, Kaitlyn Worner and Amanda Zink.

The George Austin Award for Campus Leadership was presented to Sara Gibbs, a biology and business major from Claremore, and Kaitlyn Worner, a senior mathematics major from Moore.

Beth Powell, a senior history and American Indian studies major from Newcastle was presented with the Gladys Emerson award for Undergraduate Research.

Seven students received certification for their involvement in the President’s Leadership Council. They include: Haley Bryant, of Apache; Kali Cook, of Apache; Rikkie Davidson, of Verden; Becca Hyde, of Piedmont; Drake King, of Fort Towson; Sheyanne McGlothlin, of Anadarko; and Caitlynn Ray, of Snyder.

The annual Bill & Pat Smith Scholar-Athlete Award was presented to Matthew Crow and Jade Ovendale.

Five students received the Daktronics-NAIA Scholar Athlete Award. Honorees included Matthew Crow, Shay Nash, Ndeye Ngom, Jade Ovendale and Alejandro Rubio.

Thirteen students were given the Sooner Athletic Conference’s first Academic All-Conference awards. The students honored included Linda Addo, Rhiannon Brewster, Bryan Byars, Matthew Crow, Felix Gercke, Megan Kettlewell, Shay Nash, Jade Ovendale, Manish Puri, Luka Rasovic, Alejandro Rubio, Megan Wilkerson and Jentry Yates.

Nat Scott, a senior economics major from Bournemouth, England, was named the NAIA Champion of Character.

Tori Rillema, an elementary education senior from Purcell, and Beth Pierce, an elementary education junior from Wynnewood, was honored with the Commitment to Service Award.

Alfredo Baeza was honored with the Te Ata Creative Expression Award.

The Drover Pride Award was presented to Zach Geary and Maïté Miller.

Dr. James Vaughn, assistant professor of psychology, was given the award for Outstanding Student Advisor of the Year for his work with the Psychology Club.

The Emerging Leaders Award winners included: Alexis Avery, Reed Bryant, Brenna Burris, Bridget Byers, Paige Gosney, Karis Jones, Destani Malicoat, Jose Medina, Savannah Mueller, Jordan Rhodes, Jessica Schachle and McKenzie Schooley.

The Evolving Leaders Award winners included Darby Albrecht, Sissel Brown, Aspen Burroughs, Kassandra Carr, Mason Clagg, Rachel Farriester, Emily Felts, David Gregg, Sierra Hoff, Michael Nuñez, Magdalene Quintero, Madison Russell, Bailey Vinsant and Logan Webb.

The Engaging Leaders Award winners included: Haley Bryant, Kali Cook, Brittney Dewitt, Becca Hyde, Sheyanne McGlothlin and Zev Stein.

Twenty-seven students across multiple studies and classifications were recognized for their inclusion in Who’s Who in American Colleges and Universities:

Anadarko – Sheyanne McGlothlin

Apache – Kali Cook,

Ardmore – Cheyenne Roach

Chickasha – Cheyenne Cogburn, Cody Coponiti, Ashlee Cox, Natalie Farmer, Heaven Lee

Duncan – Dakota Brown  

Eagletown – Brittani Mulkey

Edmond – Keifer Burkhard

Laverne – Haley Bryant

Locust Grove – Reed Bryant

Newcastle – Heather Hanson, Lauren Kautz

Norman – Shelby Howland,

Oklahoma City – Ashlee Brown, Tabatha Whiteside, Brooke Worcester

Purcell – Max Terrell

Snyder – Caitlynn Ray

Tulsa – Maïté Miller

La Jara, New Mexico – Owen Adams

Abilene, Texas – Corrynn Englerth

Cyress, Texas – Carlos Rivera

Riga, Latvia –Ilze Teilane

Dakar, Senegal – Ndeye Ngom

Freshman Leadership award recipients included Ty Astle, Brenna Burris, Karis Jones, Kaylee Jones, Jordan Rhodes, McKenzie Schooley and Sierra Stone.

Sophomore Leadership award recipients included Reed Bryant, Aspen Burroughs, Allison Collins, Sierra Hoff, Brianne Humphreys, Michael Nuñez and Bailey Vinsant.

Junior Leadership award recipients included Ashlee Brown, Cody Coponiti, Sheyanne McGlothlin, Maïte Miller, Deborah Park, Ethan Steakley and Logan Webb.

Senior Leadership award recipients included Kali Cook, Zach Geary, Harrison Guy, Shelby Howland, Drake King, Jennifer Stewart and Kaitlyn Worner.