Minerva Awards at USAO highlight student achievement

Logo for the Minerva Awards

Minerva Awards at USAO highlight student achievement


The University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma recently honored students for their achievements and service during the 10th annual Minerva Awards ceremony.

“We are proud to recognize these students for their dedication to USAO inside and outside of the classroom,” said Nancy Hughes, dean of students. “The awards are named after Minerva, the ancient Roman goddess of wisdom and science. Those recognized with Minerva Awards at USAO must be steadfast in their commitment to not only their academic achievements, but also serve as leaders within the campus community."

The Minerva Awards provide public recognition for outstanding students at USAO. Students are honored for excellence in academics, community service, campus involvement and other areas. In addition to individual honors, the ceremony recognizes honor society members, recipients of Who’s Who, seniors graduating with honors and Presidential Leadership Council members.

The USAO Leadership Academy is a three-tiered program that enhances students’ leadership skills with various workshops, projects, and networking opportunities. In addition to being a great resume builder, graduates from the program will have a plethora of leadership experiences that will help them excel through life after college.

Emerging Leaders
Paige Denny
Ryan Haddon
Caitlyn Hatfield
Devon Hinds
Halley Ponder
Caleb Townley
Andreanna Turner

Evolving Leaders
Brandi Alexander
Alexia Robbins
Juan Soto
Kylie Stevens

Engaging Leaders
Alexis Avery
Brenna Burris
Paige Gosney
Karis Jones
Destani Malicoat
Jose Medina
Magdalene Quintero
Jordan Rhodes
Jessice Schachle
McKenzie Schooley
Logan Webb

Leadership Awards honor outstanding students who have shown leadership qualities during their time at USAO. A Leadership Award recipient has demonstrated the willingness and ability to involve others and hold leadership roles on campus.

Freshman Leadership Award Winners
Bailey Johnson
Haddon McIntosh
Cassandra Poole
Halley Ponder
Edgar Tafoya

Sophomore Leadership Award Winners
Alyson Hill
Emily Hoebing
Brandi Hutchinson
Denise Kimball
Tristan Reagan
Juan Soto
Carlie Triplitt
Lauren Triplitt
Andreanna Turner
Megan Wade

Junior Leadership Award Winners
Ty Astle
Brenna Burris
Taylor Hurt
Kaylee Davis
Paige Denny
McKenzie Schooley
Jordan Rhodes
Hannah Thrasher

Senior Leadership Award Winners
Emily Albrecht
Christina Bevien-Guevarra
Reed Bryant
Aspen Burroughs
Kassandra Chew
Cody Coponiti
Chad Eggar
Paige Gosney
Micah Halverson
Sierra Hoff
Brianne Humphreys
Karis Jones
Michael Nunez
Jessica Schachle
Lindsey Spencer
Sierra Stone
Kryste Turley
Bailey Vinsant
Joanna Weiss

The Commitment to Service Award honors students who have demonstrated initiative and exceptional commitment to service at USAO as well as in the community. This award is intended to recognize students who have dedicated their time and efforts to promote social justice, community awareness and civic engagement on campus and in the community.

Commitment to Service Award Winners
Chad Eggar
Karis Jones

Outstanding Student Organization Award recognizes official USAO student groups whose activities surpass the normal expectations of a club, not only in the level of activity, but also the quality of group events. Recipients are expected to have contributed to campus life as well as to the community.

Outstanding Student Organization Award Winners
Sigma Psi Omega

Outstanding Student Organization Advisor Award recognizes a faculty or staff member who has voluntarily gone "beyond the call of duty" by providing extraordinary support for student organizations.

Outstanding Student Organization Advisor Year Award Winners
Emily Baker
Sarah Crevar

Commitment to Diversity Award honors a USAO student who has exhibited awareness and appreciation for diversity and inclusion in their activities and performance in and outside the classroom setting.

Commitment to Diversity Award Winner
Emma Kraus

Drover Pride Award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary support for the campus community, embodying the Drover spirit through participation and achievement.

Drover Pride Award Winner
Joanna Weiss

George Austin Award for Campus Leadership is given to a junior or senior who has been on the forefront of campus life, including taking leadership roles in activities such as serving as an officer in student groups, organizing service projects, leading programs, and helping build the leadership skills of other students at USAO.

George Austin for Campus Leadership Award Winner
Michael Cody Coponiti

The Gladys Anderson Emerson Award for Undergraduate Research is named for an OCW graduate who established herself as one of this country’s leading nutrition authorities.  While her most notable achievement in science may have been to isolate Vitamin E, she is better known at her alma mater as a global ambassador for the liberal arts. The Gladys Anderson Emerson Award honors a student who has best distinguished him/herself in the field of academic research as an undergraduate.

Gladys Emerson Award for Undergraduate Research Winner
Connor Cheek

Few Oklahomans have garnered as much attention around the world as Native American storyteller Te Ata, recognized for a lifetime of achievement in the Arts by governors, presidents, kings and her alma mater, the Oklahoma College for Women. The Te Ata Creative Expression award honors a USAO student who has best distinguished him/herself in the arts. This student must have produced substantial creative work in the area of music, art, drama, or creative writing. Preference is given to students who have publicly performed, exhibited, or published their work.

Te Ata Creative Expression Award Winner
Brianne Humphreys