USAO’s Hypatia Honor Society Announced

Friday, January 20, 2006


CHICKASHA - Seventeen students from the University of Science and Arts were inducted recently into the Hypatia Honor Society – the school’s only campus wide honor society.


The Hypatia Honor Society was founded in 1923 to honor students for their high academic achievements, character and integrity, and service to the university and community. The honor society was named after Hypatia, the famous Greek female mathematician.


Those selected for induction were Courtney Foley, a senior chemistry major from Edmond; Marcie Price, a senior art major from Moore; Modupe Apetuje, a senior pre-medicine/biology major from Lagos, Nigeria; Heather Buchberger, a senior from Lawton majoring in political science; Jean Michelle Lane, a senior from Ninnekah majoring in natural science education; Andrew Myers, an Apache senior pursuing a Bachelor’s of Fine Arts; Maryann Nwatah, a senior from Dallas, Texas, majoring in biology, chemistry, natural science and pre-medicine; Gene Pool, a senior from Lindsay nearing completion of a double major in mathematics and computer science; Thomas Proctor, a senior from Norman majoring in music composition; Billie Rohr, a senior from Blanchard majoring in art; Nicole Sherman, a senior from Tulsa majoring in economics; Shelley Thompson, a senior from Oklahoma City majoring in art and graphic design; Annabel Bryant, a junior from Oklahoma City majoring in psychology; Angela Jones, a junior from Frisco, Texas, majoring in political science; Kelli Keeble, a junior mathematics major from Minco; Loretta Seay, a junior from Vian majoring in music education and Judy Simmons, a junior from Lindsay majoring in elementary education.


Students are selected for Hypatia by a faculty committee, and it is not possible for any student to apply for membership into the Honor Society. Officers for the fall initiation were President Russell Dull, Vice President Mark Mason and Secretary Emily Glenn.


Faculty sponsors for the Hypatia Honor Society are Dr. Nancy Warden, Dr. Linda Crumb, Dr. C.M. Mather, Mr. Kent Lamar, Dr. James Pasley and Academic Vice President Dr. Sanders Huguenin.


Every student inducted into Hypatia is a multiple trimester member of the USAO honor roll and/or the Regents Honor Roll.