USAO commencement ceremonies honor 128 graduates

USAO commencement ceremonies honor 128 graduates


The University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma held spring commencement on April 22, awarding 128 students with bachelor’s degrees.

Commencement, the university wide graduation ceremony, is held at the end of the spring trimester to celebrate spring and summer graduates. Filled with pageantry, the ceremony included an address from USAO President John Feaver.

“I am always honored to preside over commencement ceremonies,” said Feaver. “I hope all of our graduates feel a sense of accomplishment for this academic achievement. Our interdisciplinary liberal arts curriculum integrates knowledge from many disciplines so our students are equipped for the 21st century job market. These graduates are well prepared for the next chapter of their lives and we wish them all the best in their future endeavors."

Nationally ranked for quality and value, USAO has served as the state’s only public liberal arts college for over a century and remains committed to providing a broad and accessible undergraduate education.

The university issued 77 Bachelor of Science degrees, 46 Bachelor of Arts degrees and five Bachelor of Fine Arts degrees during the April 22 ceremony.

Copies of the ceremony will be available on DVD from the USAO Communications and Marketing office and can be ordered online at or by calling (405) 574-1318.


Bachelor of Arts

Rebecca Autry

Bobby Barron Jr.

Madison Beam

Zane Breschini

Ashlee Brown

Rodney Burges

Fatou Ceesay

Markens Charles

Courtney Cheesman

Vincent Craighead

Lacey Conner

Cynthia Cunningham

Brittney DeWitt

Corrynn Englerth

Steven Farr

Eric Ferguson

Glenn Finley

Maria Gallegos

Zachery Geary

Brandi Goade

Arlisa Good

Heather Hanson

Christopher Housman

Alexia Jensen

Terry Jones Jr.

Ariel King

James Kiper

Heaven Lee

Tylor Lee

Preston Lowe

Jessica McClasky

Megan Myers

James Nance Jr.

Adāssia Nelms

Mary Newcome-Hatch

Hwapyung (Deborah) Park

Robert Perou

Dillon Pierce

Erinique Rolle

Kylie Scheller

Aubrey Sloan

Ilze Teilane

Joseph Weiss

Tabatha Whiteside

Eva Wilcox

Rachel Young


Bachelor of Science

David Abney

Abbie Alexander

Leslie Allen

Abbey Anderson

Sabrina Atkinson

Colton Baker

Janie Raelynn Michelle Bennett

April Bradley

Catherine Brown

Sissel Brown

Edna Bruce

Tamara Buchanan

Niall Burley

Amanda Cagle

Halie Cain

Taylor Clarke

Kevin Conner

Jordan Danser

Quincy Fletcher

Samuel Foret

Dakota Gaines

Hayden George

Andria Hager

Robina Hamman

Jessica Harrison

Mackenzie Hawkins

Austin Hipkins

A’gota Józan

Michelle Kelly

Wykeena Jacquetta Shanette King

Galela Kirkland

Ciara Kuestersteffen

Morgan Ledford

Carlos Leija-Tapia

Juliana Leite

Dao Thong Lim

Jacinda Lovelace

Liam Madden

Luz Martin

Kyle Maxwell

Chastity McClintic

Samantha Miller

Nolan Mogg

Richard Murray

Christopher Musick

Kimberly Nash

Chandler Nichols

Kyler Nichols

Kalokwera Okot

Dani Ozment

Patricia Patterson

Nolan Peek

Beth Pierce

Raymond Pierce

Sylvia Pitner

Natasha Portenier

Jordyn Prock

Rory John Rivera

Jake Rohrer

Shelby Sapcutt-Howard

Clinton Selman

Lauren Sheive

Rachelle Tiblow

Kristy Trammell

Ogba Ubredi

Jamie Uhles

Aaron Vardasebi

Jessica Vargas

Ryah Vyse

Eva Wilcox

Katlyn Wilson

Brett Womack

Joshua Wonser

Jentry Yates

Vanessa Yates

Ryan Yount


Bachelor of Fine Arts

Jacob Gillette

Sonja Ingram

Braeden Jantzen

Anthony Picinich III

Shelby Wayland

Honored by the USAO Faculty Association with Outstanding Graduate Awards were:

Cynthia Cummingham for the Division of Arts and Humanities

Kevin Conner for the Division of Social Sciences and Business

Abbie Alexander for the Division of Education and Speech Language Pathology

Jordan Danser for the Division of Science and Physical Education

Distinguished Graduate Award

Ron Carr, president of the USAO Alumni Association, presented the Association’s Distinguished Graduate Award to Chickasha native Jordan Danser.

Danser graduated Summa Cum Laude with a Bachelor of Science degree in mathematics.

“Jordan has become one of my most inquisitive, creative, enthusiastic and intuitive students. He is easily one of the best, if not the best, mathematically talented students I have had the pleasure to teach,” said Dr. Quan Tran, assistant professor of mathematics.

In addition to talent in math, Jordan also is talented in music and athletically. He was a member of the USAO Concert Choir and Canterbury Voices. He conducted his own composition for the Concert Choir in 2013. He was a member of the Cross Country team and received the Bill and Pat Smith Scholar Athlete Award.

Danser was inducted into USAO’s honor society, Hypatia, and the freshman honor society, Alpha Lambda Delta. He was involved in several campus and community organizations and committees.

His undergraduate research work has included Preparation for Industrial Careers in Mathematics (PIC Math) and six presentations in USAO’s Math, Technology and Science Club Colloquiums. He has attended four math-related conferences while a student at USAO.

Danser received a fully-funded teacher assistantship for the Ph.D. program in math at the University of Oklahoma.