USAO commencement honors 101 graduates

A group of graduating seniors after USAO's commencement

USAO commencement honors 101 graduates


The University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma held spring commencement on April 21, awarding 101 students with bachelor’s degrees.

Commencement, the university-wide graduation ceremony, is held at the end of the spring trimester to celebrate spring and summer graduates. Filled with pageantry, the ceremony included an address from USAO President John Feaver.

“I am always honored to preside over commencement ceremonies,” said Feaver. “I hope all of our graduates feel a sense of accomplishment for this academic achievement. Our interdisciplinary liberal arts curriculum integrates knowledge from many disciplines so our students are equipped for the 21st century job market. These graduates are well prepared for the next chapter of their lives and we wish them all the best in their future endeavors."

Nationally ranked for quality and value, USAO has served as the state’s only public liberal arts college for over a century and remains committed to providing a broad and accessible undergraduate education.

The university issued 62 Bachelor of Science degrees, 32 Bachelor of Arts degrees and 7 Bachelor of Fine Arts degrees during the April 21 ceremony.

Bachelor of Arts
Kayla Dawn Barnett
Ryan Lynn Bates
Rhiannon Taylor Brewster
Mason Keith Clagg
Michael Cody Coponiti
Jade Renee Courtney
William Olen Cox
Shyantha Katasha Dillihunt
Natalie Dawn Farmer
William Kyle Garretson
Shannon Marie Greenway
David Jay Gregg
Khassandra Taous Hameg
Sierra Lenee Hoff
Audrey DeeAnn Howard
Douglas Chase Johnson
Emily Ladd
Julie Ladd
Jamie Eve Laleff
Susannah Jane Leonard
Wade Dean Monroe
Mikaela G. Spaulding
Blaine Thomas Spencer
Mary Grace Tennison
Sarah Kristine Tippett
Cooper Osborn Treadaway
Anne Marie Tsonetokoy
Kryste Amarie Turley
Kathrena Nicole Warner
Joanna Ruth Weiss
Leslie Ann Williamson
Rheanna Lee Zguro

Bachelor of Science
McKenzie Anne Adams
Chasity Anette Asberry
Aspen Danielle Burroughs
Billy Dean Bussell
Craig Douglass Caffrey
Kevin Mathew Pagulayan Cafirma
Brendan Chapman
Connor Lance Cheek
Kassandra Emily Carr Chew
Carson Duane Corff
Vladimar Curcic 
Melissa Christine Donley
Sarah Kay Drechsler
Laney Hope Drennan
Kallee Lynn Fralix
Dakota Rayce Gaines
Nicholas Colby Gordon
Paige Breanne Gosney
Lauren Ashley Gushing
Stephanie Jo Hale
Baylee Autumn Harrison
Sierra Lenee Hoff
Rae Lynn Holland
Mary Helen Howell
Holly Elizabeth Hunter
Kaylee Jane Jones
Haley Nichole Kaudlekaule
Brodi Liam Peters Keefe
Megan Jane Eva Kettlewell
Jessica Maria Kodaseet
Tate Michalyn Landmark
Abigail Vaden Leonard
Jennie Danielle Linck
Tiffany Ann Lonewolf
Christian T. Mackey
*Liam Vincent Madden
Brianna S. Mandrell
Thayne Harold McCage
Shannyn Jean McGouran
Priscilla Owusu Mensah
Maite Laoise Miller
Stormi Dawn Miller
Michael Nunez
Alyssa Katelynn Owens
*Stephen Kwao Owusu
Gemma Pearson
*Rafael M. Pena
Manish Puri
Magdalene Quintero
Kylie Nicole Rigsby
Brian Leroy Robertson Jr.
Madison Beth Russell
Bryan Sanchez
Jessica Lauren Schachle
Hayden Barry Sloane
Erian Hope Stone
Kaylin Alyssa Taylor
Brigitte Kathleen Taylor
Connor William Vaughan
Bailey Sue Vinsant
Jennifer Renea' Winchester
Alyssa Brooke Young

Bachelor of Fine Arts
Freddy Baeza
Justin Kyle Bennett
Elizabeth Nicole Betzen
Victoria Leigh Clary
Brooke Leighanne Curtis
Brianne Alta Humphreys
Logan Brett Webb

Honored by the USAO Faculty Association with Outstanding Graduate Awards were:

  • Brianne Alta Humphreys and Susannah Jane Leonard for the Division of Arts and Humanities.
  • Michael Cody Coponiti and Megan Jane Eva Kettlewell for the Division of Social Sciences and Business.
  • McKenzie Anne Adams and Shannyn Jean McGouran for the Division of Education and Speech Language Pathology.
  • Connor Cheek and Bailey Vinsant for the Division of Science and Physical Education.

Distinguished Graduate Award

Ron Carr, president of the USAO Alumni Association, presented the association’s Distinguished Graduate Award to Ninnekah native Connor Cheek.

Cheek graduated Summa Cum Laude with Bachelor of Science degrees in both physics and mathematics.

“In his time at USAO, Connor proved himself to be a superior student with an exemplary academic and extracurricular record,” said Dr. J.C. Sanders, chair of the division of science and physical education and associate professor of physics. “Through his coursework, original research, and community service, he truly has distinguished himself in every way.

In addition to his talent in math and physics, Cheek is also skilled athletically. He was a member of the USAO Cross Country team and part of the Sooner Athletic Conference All-Academic Cross Country team in 2015.

Cheek was inducted into USAO’s honor society, Hypatia, and the freshman honor society, Alpha Lambda Delta. He also spent a semester at Swansea University in the United Kingdom as a Brad Henry Scholar.

He was also heavily involved in the community, creating the DroverLocal program which gave students discounts at local businesses. He also created the Graduate School Assistance Scholarship for students pursuing graduate school.

Cheek’s undergraduate research work has included Preparation for Industrial Careers in Mathematics (PIC Math) and USAO Research Endorsement. He has presented research at several academic conferences while a student at USAO.