Eleven USAO students recently were inducted into the Hypatia Honor Society, the University’s 91-year-old organization, which honors students for their high academic achievements, character and integrity, as well as service to the university and their community. Front row, from left, are Alejandro Rubio, Laura Bennett, Kylie Clark, Kendra Hollenbeck and Amanda Zink. Back row are Lindsay Robbins, Connor Cheek, Glen Straughn, Daniel Edwards and Chelsea Butler.

USAO inducts 11 students into elite honor society

Wednesday, April 2, 2014

Eleven students at the University of Science and Arts were honored recently for their academic achievements and community and campus activities as they were initiated into Hypatia, USAO’s only campus-wide honor society.

The students were inducted during an awards luncheon attended by faculty, staff and family members March 27.

Dr. Dex Marble, vice president for academic advancement, shared remarks at the ceremony. New members were initiated by Hypatia officers that included President Paige Pulliam, a senior biology major from Newcastle; Secretary Matthew Crow, a senior biology major from Collierville, Tenn.; and Kaitlyn Worner, a senior mathematics and business major from Moore, who filled in for Vice President Kelsea Mallette.

Eric Feuerborn, director of alumni development and former president of the Hypatia Club, delivered the closing remarks.

Faculty and administration sponsors for Hypatia include committee chair, Dr. Nancy Warden, professor of mathematics; Dr. Dex Marble, vice president of academic affairs; Dr. Nancy Hector, associate professor of education and coordinator of field-based experiences; Dr. James Vaughn, assistant professor of psychology; and Layne Thrift, assistant professor of art.

The Hypatia Honor Society was founded in 1923 to honor students for their high academic achievements, character and integrity, and service to the university and the community. The honor society was named after Hypatia, the famous Greek female mathematician.

A faculty committee selects students for Hypatia. It is not possible for any student to apply for membership in the Honor Society.

Additionally, every student inducted into Hypatia is a multiple trimester member of the USAO Honor Roll and/or the Regents’ Honor Roll.

One of the features of the annual initiation luncheon is the signing of the Hypatia member book, a book that contains the signatures of every member of the elite honor society since its inception more than 90 years ago.

Initiates honored include:

Laura Bennett is pursuing a double major in physics and history from Oklahoma City. Bennett is a member of the USAO Mathematics/Technology/Science Club. She also works as a tutor in the Math & Science Tutor Lab.

Chelsea Butler is from Chickasha and is working towards a major in sociology. Butler is a member of Alpha Lambda Delta and volunteers for Chickasha Head Start.

Connor Cheek is pursuing a major in biology and liberal arts minor from Chickasha.  Cheek is a member of the Leadership Team for the USAO campus ministry group, Chi Alpha. He is senator in the USAO Student Government Association, representing the division of science and physical education. Additional activities include serving on the editorial board for The Accent, USAO’s student arts and literature journal, and working as a math, science and writing tutor.

Kylie Clark is from Tuttle and is working towards an early childhood education degree.  Clark is president of the Sigma Psi Omega sorority, and is secretary of the education honor society, Kappa Delta Pi. She is a member of the USAO Drovers against Cancer organization and served a year as secretary for Alpha Lambda Delta. Clark is very active in the USAO Child Development Lab.

Daniel Edwards is completing his major in history with secondary teacher certification.  A native of Verden, Edwards has been a member of the USAO Baseball team for two years.  He is also a member of Kappa Delta Phi.

Kendra Hollenbeck is a vocal music education major from Dickson. Hollenbeck’s activities include participation in the USAO Showband and the Concert Choir. She is also a member of the leadership team for USAO’s Baptist Collegiate Ministries and the University Musicians. Hollenbeck is also a member of the worship choir at First Baptist Church and serves as volunteer in the children’s choir ministry.

Beth Powell, of Blanchard, is pursuing a double major in history and American Indian Studies, with academic advisors. Powell received first place for a paper she presented at the Oklahoma Association of Professional Historians conference in March in the undergraduate United States history category. She is secretary of the USAO Inter-Tribal Heritage Club and also coaches her son’s t-ball team. She is the graphics coordinator for the Go With Crow for Senate campaign.

Lindsay Robbins is from Moore and is working towards a major in Music Education. Robbins is a member of the University musicians club, the Woodwind Ensemble, the Concert Band, the Concert Choir and the Showband. She presented at the Spring 2014 Festival of Arts and Ideas.

Alejandro Rubio is working towards a business administration major with an economics minor. His hometown is Zaragoza, Spain. Rubio is also a member of the men’s soccer team. He recently participated in Drover Difference Day.

Glen Straughn is working towards a computer science major and mathematics minor.  Straughn is from Ada and his activities include membership in the Gamer’s Club and the campus ministry group, Chi Alpha.

Amanda Zink is pursuing a major in speech and language pathology. A native of Chickasha, Zink is vice president of USAO’s chapter of the National Student Speech Language Hearing Association and is a member of Alpha Lambda Delta. She volunteers with Chickasha’s Head Start program.