USAO inducts eight into national honor society for theatre

Back row from left: Patricia LaFevers, Jackson Parker, Will Baird; center row from left: Morgan Montgomery and Lynsey Karraker; front row from left: Professor Katie Davis, Devynn Denny, Kylee VanCoevering, and Miah Baker

USAO inducts eight into national honor society for theatre


The University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma recently inducted eight students into Alpha Psi Omega (APO), the national honor society for theatre.

This year’s inductees into Sigma Xi cast, USAO’s chapter of APO, are Will Baird of Jenks, Miah Baker of Oklahoma City, Lynsey Karraker of Hydro, Devynn Denny of Tulsa, Morgan Montgomery of Choctaw, Jackson Parker of Midwest City, Kylee VanCoevering of Yukon and Patricia LaFevers of Blanchard.

They joined current APO members for an initiation ceremony and theatre awards banquet held in the Stevens Alumni House on the USAO campus. All inducted into APO Honor Society will be lifetime members, benefitting from scholarships, mentorship, and the connected community of more than 600 chapters, known as casts.

“I am pleased to add eight more USAO students to the national register of our honor society,” said Katie Davis, professor of theatre arts. “Our theatre arts program offers students the chance to gain valuable experience in the classroom and in our laboratory, the Davis Hall Little Theater. Alpha Psi Omega recognizes both areas as important to the development of excellence in the theatre.”

At the 2018 business meeting, the Sigma Xi cast voted to nominate Emily Hector-Godwin for honorary membership in the society. Godwin has been an instructor of dance at USAO since 2010. She is currently completing a Master of Arts in dance education through University of North Carolina-Greenwood. She has choreographed musical theatre productions at USAO, coordinated the Drover Dance team, and operates her school, LOVE TO DANCE, in Chickasha. National officers must approve her nomination.  

An APO member herself, Davis has been the Sigma Xi cast sponsor since 2008 and coordinator of the USAO Theatre Arts program since 2006. She earned her Master of Fine Arts in directing from the University of Mississippi.

Alpha Psi Omega was founded in 1925 by the faculty of Fairmont State College in West Virginia as the first national honorary organization in theatre for university students.  Criteria for selection to this society includes maintaining a 2.5 grade point average and earning points for acting, playwriting, designing for the stage, operating theatre technology, and leadership in campus theatre clubs. The initiation is unique because it requires that pledges perform memorized monologues from Shakespeare for the audience of current APO members.

For more information about Alpha Psi Omega, including the national roster of chapters, visit For more information about the service activities of our local cast, contact Davis at (405) 574-1310 or