USAO students recently were initiated into Alpha Lambda Delta, a scholastic honor society for freshmen. The national honor society selects students based on their academic achievement. These 20 students represent communities in Oklahoma, Texas and the Ivory Coast.

USAO Initiates 20 Alpha Lambda Delta Students

Wednesday, April 2, 2008

CHICKASHA -- At a recent luncheon with families and faculty members, 20 freshmen were initiated into the Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society at the University of Science and Arts.

" These students represent the best of our freshman class," said Dr. Peter Thomas, associate professor of education/science and faculty advisor for the honor society. " We're very proud of these students and their achievements."

Alpha Lambda Delta (ALD) was formed in 1924 at the University of Illinois as a national scholastic honor society that recognizes and encourages academic excellence among first year students. ALD is open to full-time freshmen students who earn a grade point average of 3.5 or better.

On March 25, the students joined the prestigious society at a luncheon in the USAO Ballroom. Dr. Sanders Huguenin, vice president for academic affairs, gave an introduction to the ceremony and Dr. Dan Hanson, professor of music, provided entertainment on piano.

The following students were initiated into Alpha Lambda Delta:

Broken Arrow: Sarah Brewer

Chickasha: Whitney A. Brown

Del City: Quentin A. Pongratz

Fort Sill: Laura Haithcock

Harrah: Nicole Garland

Marlow: Holly Ann Titus

Mustang: Rachel D. Crail, Christina Wilson

Norman: Elizabeth Chelsea Davis

Oklahoma City: Laci N. Deskin, Desiree Dicharry, Kendra Diane Noble, Jorden Wiggins

Rush Springs: Audrey D. Hodges

Ryan: Hayley Rebecca Curtis

Tecumseh: Tiffany ReNee Hile

Tulsa: Katherine M. Johnson

Wetumka: Sara Banta

Out of state:

Denton, Texas: Sarah Elizabeth Burden

Out of country:

Ivory Coast, Africa: Bled Marchall N'Guessan