A total of 13 seniors graduating with honors were recognized during the 2012-13 Minerva Awards held on April 9 at USAO. They are (from left, front row) Lindsey Cathey, Stacy Jones, Shane Hagan, April Lawrence, Sara Rowe (from left, back row), Seth Sturgeon, Kale Barnett, Travis Bates, Lisa Fruit, Tashina Ototivo and Maegan Womble. Not pictured are Samantha Lightfoot and Lawrence Spitzer. The Minerva Awards provides public recognition for outstanding students at USAO.

USAO Minerva Awards highlight student achievement

Wednesday, April 17, 2013


Students at the University of Science and Arts were honored for a variety of achievements during the seventh annual Minerva Awards Ceremony at the USAO Ballroom April 9.


The Minerva Awards provide public recognition for outstanding students at USAO. Students are honored for excellence in academics, community service, athletics, campus involvement and other areas.


In addition to individual honors, the ceremony recognizes honor society members, recipients of Who's Who, seniors graduating with honors, Presidential Leadership Council and Student Government members.


Four graduating seniors were recognized by the college’s four academic divisions as Distinguished Graduates for spring 2013.


English major Sara Rowe, from Mustang, received distinction from the Division of Arts and Humanities. April Lawrence, a business major from Del City, was named the outstanding graduate for the Division of Business and Social Science. Lisa Fruit, a speech language pathology major from Mustang, was distinguished by the Division of Education and Speech Language Pathology. Travis Bates, an Idabel resident pursuing a degree in biology, was named the outstanding graduate for the Division of Science and Physical Education.


Rowe was awarded also the Stuart Meltzer English Scholarship.


Six students received the Daktronics-NAIA Scholar Athlete Award. Honorees included Erin Coggan, Matthew Crow, Aaron Manuel, Tashina Ototivo, Scott Parkinson and Paige Pulliam.


Nine students were acknowledged as Sooner Athletic Academic All-Conference recipients. Honorees included Rashelle Carr, Amber Chaney, Brandon Cutler, Krista Ford, Brittany Scott, Shavon Scott, and Celeste Smith as well as Ototivo and Pulliam.


The annual Bill & Pat Smith Scholar-Athlete Award, which is given to just one male and one female athlete each year, was presented to Seth Sturgeon and Ototivo.


The George Austin Award for Campus Leadership was presented to Dexter Nelson II of Bridge Creek and Kylee Taylor of Tulsa.

Moore resident Brian Coburn received the Te Ata Award for Creative Expression.


The Emerging Leaders Award went to Haley Bryant of Slapout, Kali Cook of Apache, Brittney Dewitt of Tuttle, Rebecca Hyde of Piedmont, William Lee of Chickasha, Sheyanne McGlothlin of Anadarko, Craig Patton of Pocasset, Johnathon Reil of Elgin, Jake Rohrer of Lindsay, Britani Soesbee of Edmond, Zev Stein of Oklahoma City and Jennifer Stewart of Valliant.


Victoria Burgess of Tulsa, Christopher Collins of Fort Towson, Rikkie Davidson of Verden, Tracinda Friedt of Altus, Drake King of Fort Towson, Jessica Moore of Midwest City, Dani Ozment of Tecumseh and Caitlynn Ray of Snyder were presented with the Evolving Leaders award.


Rory Barron of Spencer, Kathryn Daniels of Del City, Kathryn Francis of Moore, Chisum Lane of Hydro, April Lawrence, and Erin Miears of Chandler were presented with the Engaging Leader award.


Graham Faulkner, a senior physical education major from Mustang, was honored with the Commitment to Diversity Award.


Research Endorsements were awarded to Norman resident and senior psychology major Sky Corby and senior biology major Nathan Samples of Tuttle.

Samples was presented also with the Gladys Emerson award for Undergraduate Research.


The Drover Pride Award was presented to Kara Price. Sigma Psi Omega was named the Outstanding Student Organization of the Year and Monica Park, manager of the Lawson Court facility, was given the award for Outstanding Student Advisor of the Year for her work with Sigma Psi Omega.


Eight students received graduation cords for their involvement in the President’s Leadership Council. They include Rory Barron, Megan Battershell of Chandler, Kathryn Daniels of Del City, Chris Jeffries of Chickasha, Stacy Jones of Chandler, Chisum Lane, April Lawrence of Del City and Kellie Snow of Konawa.


Twenty-three students across multiple studies and classifications were recognized for their inclusion in Who’s Who in American Colleges and Universities:

Ardmore— Jacob Hollenbeck

Bridge Creek — Dexter Nelson II

Chandler — Stacy Jones

Claremore — Sara Gibbs

Enid — Dominique Midgett

Konawa — Kellie Snow

Midwest City — Kelsea Mallette

Moore — Daniel Bokemper

Muldrow — Nicole Oldham

Mustang — Lisa Fruit, Stephanie Hart

Newcastle — Paige Pulliam

Norman — Sky Corby, Calandra McCool

Oklahoma City — Bryan Hutchinson

Ponca City — Megan Harris

Tecumseh — Allison McMahon

Tulsa — Rachel Sharpe, Kylee Taylor

Tuttle — Adam Bryant, Preston Vasquez

Wayne — Wendy Chambers

Yukon — Jacob Alexander