Ninety minutes and two goals later, the University of Science and Arts Drovers are Sooner Athletic Conference Tournament Champions.

“I feel good,” Head Coach Jimmy Hampton said after the game. “Probably a bit of relief.”

Both USAO and the visiting team, the Oklahoma City University Stars, battled for a goal during the first half of the game. Despite the struggle, Hampton said he was pleased with how the beginning of the game went.

“I think in the first half for the first 20 minutes, we played good football,” he said. “As we established a rhythm, we were better.”

At the 56:21-minute marker, team captain Sam Shaddick netted the first ball of the game with an assist from Niall Crick.

With just five minutes remaining in the game, David Otieno scored yet another Drover goal, whizzing the ball past OCU goalie Andy Fitzpatrick. The Drovers shut out OCU 2-0.

The Drovers outshot the Stars both on total shots (14-8) and on shots on goal (7-2).

This is the sixth time the Drovers have won the tournament out of the seven they’ve attended, but the first time the team has hosted.

The team will play in the national tournament, which begins Nov. 21.

“The first thing you do, you let them absorb it,” Hampton said. “Let’s go win (the national tournament).”

Sooner Athletic Conference Tournament
Friday, Nov. 6
First Round Oklahoma City 2, John Brown 0
Rogers State 1, Oklahoma Christian 0
Monday, Nov. 9 Semifinals
USAO 4, Rogers State 0
Oklahoma City 3, Southern Nazarene 2, 2OT
Thursday, Nov. 12 Championship
Oklahoma City 0, USAO 2

Sooner Athletic Conference All-Tournament Team
Gabriel Duarte, John Brown University
Tim Spencer, Oklahoma Christian University
Brett Jones, Rogers State University
Carlos Zuta, Rogers State University
Ryan Allen, Southern Nazarene University
Mike Bray, Southern Nazarene University
Alex Gang, Oklahoma City University
Chris Spendlove, Oklahoma City University
Steven Short, Oklahoma City University
Aiden Ashmore, University of Science and Arts
Ryan Mcentee, University of Science and Arts
Dusan Rasovic, University of Science and Arts
Tournament MVP: David Oiteno, University of Science and Arts