Science & Art’s spring 2021 commencement ceremony honors 152 graduates

April 24 graduation event marked first steps of return to normalcy
April 24 graduation event marked first steps of return to normalcy

Although the COVID-19 pandemic has disrupted graduation festivities at the University of Science & Arts of Oklahoma for two semesters, the spring 2021 commencement ceremony marked a major return to normalcy for graduates during an in-person, outdoor event held April 24.

The ceremony honored graduates from fall 2020, spring 2021 and summer 2021. Students who graduated in spring 2020 were invited to participate in the 2021 ceremony.

“It makes me enormously happy to resume our commencement activities in-person this semester, and particularly to invite all of the students whose final term in college was so cruelly disrupted by the pandemic,” said President John Feaver. “Every student who walks across that stage has worked so hard to get to where they are today, and being able to congratulate them as they receive their bachelor’s degree has always been one of my greatest joys as the president of this institution.”

For the 2020-21 academic year, USAO awarded 91 Bachelor of Science degrees, 42 Bachelor of Arts degrees and eight Bachelor of Fine Arts degrees during commencement, which includes 12 graduates from the spring 2020 term.

Nationally ranked for quality and value, for over a century USAO has remained committed to providing a broad and accessible undergraduate education as the state’s only public liberal arts college.

Bachelor of Arts

Damian Shawn Armendariz

Zachary Allen Banker

Becky Marie Blanton

Matthew Todd Brooks Jr.

Lacee Dawn Broyles

Courtney Maya Burleigh

Keeunda Olivia Cole

Allison Lynn Crutchfield

Samantha Naomi Fraize

Jessica Stark Frizzell

Daniel Delano Gomez

Genevieve Rebecca Gordon

Meagan Anna Corrine Holland

Matthew Carl Lucas

Deanie Rosemaria Lucero

Shawn Rodney McDaniel

Victoria Marie Mickelson

Tucker Guy Mora

James William Mounger II

Logan Timothy Nitzel

Korbyn Josef Peebles

Blake Alexis Ramsey

Rachel Marie Redemer

Katarina Faith Shew

Savanah Paige Springfield

Kaitlyn Noel Verser

Christopher Lee Wilson


Bachelor of Science

Jessica Beth Akins

Unai Azurmendi

Rachel Anne Baker

Louis Baltazar

Karlie Dawn Bonds

McKenna Jordan Bradshaw

Kate-Linn Kelby Brayton

Brennan William Brister

Hannah Dawhn Cannon

Courtney Danielle Clark

Maddison Kay Cook

Kyler Ryan Crook

Edgar A Cuevas

Lindsay Michelle Daugherty

Hilary Jone DeVries

Corey Nathan Garza

Tristyn Brooke Genn

Scot Michael Godfrey

Georgia Kay Griffith

James Auverne Hampton III

Jerrod Rex Haskell

Skyy Anne Hilbun

Tiffani Brianne Hinkle

Wyatt Robert Lynn Hull

Ryder Martin Igo

Kade Baylen Johnson

James Cody Jones

Kaylee Madison Jones

Tanya Cheresse Lett

McKenna Faith Lindsay

Bayli Renee Lucas

Madison Lee Lybarger

Tarah Marie Madron

Haley Michaela Maib

Jake Austin Marion

Trevor Dwayne McAlister

Matthew Dale Merrill

Kindle Dawn Nelms

Jillian Marie Nicholas

Caleb Michael Nichols

Amber Louise Nickle

George Origi Oduor

Favour Ayomikun Oyebami

Karmyn Nicole Pearn

Galen D Phillips

Amber Joyce Pool

Makayan Cherlynn Pruitt

Andres Enrrique Romero

Jolie Daniele Hushi Napakali Romine

Sarah Paige Sipes

Nicholas Patrick Stachovic

Taylor Janay Stringfellow

Kellee Idena Stubbs

Harry Tamakloe

Grace Madelaine Touchstone

Casey Ryan Tripp

Martin Alejandro Velasco

Kaycee Layne Ward

Colton David Williams

Kori Nicole Williams

Ashlee Glenn Williamson

Christopher John Wise

Heather Renee York-Clune

William James Baird


Bachelor of Fine Arts

Hannah Elizabeth Bays

Kori Rene Caparelli

Casey Elizabeth Gilman

Coleen Marie Brondial Sovick

Zora Monroe Weyrick


Faculty-Mentored Research Program

The following students produced original research projects suitable for conference presentation and/or professional publication under the mentorship of USAO faculty:

William Baird

Matthew Brooks Jr.

Cora Clegg

Cody Corser

Genevieve Gordon

Skyy Hilbun

Allie Morris

Korbyn Peebles

Nicholas Stachovic

Martin Velasco


USAO Faculty Association’s Outstanding Graduate Awards

Genevieve Gordon for the Division of Arts and Humanities

Genevieve Gordon, Allie Morris and Korbyn Peebles for the Division of Social Sciences and Business

Maddison Cook for the Division of Education and Speech Language Pathology

William Baird and Kaylee Jones for the Division of Science and Physical Education


USAO Alumni Association’s Distinguished Graduate Award

Heidi Rice, president of the USAO Alumni Association, presented the Association’s Distinguished Graduate Award to Genevieve Gordon, who graduated summa cum laude with a bachelor’s degree in English and sociology.

--> -->