Fall 2018 commencement honors 57 graduates

The University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma held fall commencement on Dec. 7, awarding 57 students with bachelor’s degrees.

Commencement, the universitywide graduation ceremony, is held at the end of the fall semester to celebrate that term’s graduates. Filled with pageantry, the ceremony included an address from USAO President John Feaver.

“Every term, I am honored to preside over our commencement ceremony,” said Feaver. “Every graduate should feel a sense of accomplishment for the achievements that have enabled them to walk across this stage. USAO’s interdisciplinary curriculum integrates knowledge and ideas from many disciplines, training our students in the long and proud tradition of liberal arts education, while also ensuring that they are equipped for the 21st century job market. Wherever the next chapter of these graduates’ lives may take them, we wish them nothing but the best for the future."

Nationally ranked for quality and value, USAO has served as the state’s only public liberal arts college for over a century and remains committed to providing a broad and accessible undergraduate education.

The university issued 31 Bachelor of Science degrees, 22 Bachelor of Arts degrees and four Bachelor of Fine Arts degrees during the Dec. 7 ceremony.

Bachelor of Fine Arts

Benjamin Allen Blackstar

Lainey Nicole Conant

Ethan Frederick Gorrell

Grace Lorraine Hawkins


Bachelor of Arts

Mariah Nichole Becker

Christina Ashley Bevien-Guevarra

Angelica Rose Bishop

Michael James Boyd

Chloe Vaiya Butler

Ana Maria Carrion-Charqueno

Seth Dylan Covey

Tailor Paige Finney

Amanda Rose Johnston

Phaliesha Michelle Kodaseet

Hannah Jean Lampson

Katherine Kelley Loman

Jessica Ann Manning

Sylvia Leora McClanahan

Thomas Elijah Miller

Ashley Le Ann Oaks

Melissa Lee Olson

Megan Lynn Pugh

Elise Brittany Schuster

Josie Dawn Sneed

Benjamin David Verser

Tucker Dean White


Bachelor of Science

Vemon Clouse Ahtone

Shyanne McKenzie Alexander

Danielle Nicole Todd Allison

Gregory Michael Barnette

Savanah Brett Barrett

Brooklynn Leann Bear

Katie Lou Brassfield

Bianca Jaree’ Cardenas

Jenny Katherine Corbin

Monica Kay Dobbs

Rachel Ann Drechsler

Conor Patrick Fay

Yaw Ferkah-Ahenkorah

Elizabeth Giroux

Gabrielle Kay McDonough

Katelynne Dawn Hull

Ashley Denise Kopepassah

Meghan Nicole Maddox

Jami Michelle Martin

Jaclyn Danielle McCasland

Heather Jean McCracken

Kaitlynn Messinah Osceola

Jodi Marie Power

Casey Lynne Rafael

Brittany Ann Rainwater

Cole Reine Ratchford

Bailey Elizabeth Rush

Joseph Ryan Shepard

Kiel Parker Smith

William McDonald Sprayberry

Dahlly Maire Wilson


Honored by the USAO Faculty Association with Outstanding Graduate Awards were:

  • Ethan Fredrick Gorrell for the Division of Arts and Humanities.
  • Shyanne McKenzie Alexander for the Division of Science and Physical Education.
  • Benjamin David Verser for the Division of Social Sciences and Business.
  • Savanah Brett Barrett for the Division of Education and Speech Language Pathology.
--> -->