Heilman earns Employee of the Year award

USAO Regents Chair David McLaughlin (right) congratulates Adam Heilman (left), manager of the university’s print shop, for winning the Employee of the Year award. Heilman was presented the award at the Regents September meeting by Jessica Jackson (center), USAO’s assistant director of communications and marketing and sports information manager, who earned the award for 2012-2013.

Heilman earns Employee of the Year award


David McLaughlin, regents chair at the University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma, presented the Staff Employee of the Year award to Adam Heilman, manager of the USAO Print Shop, during the September regents’ meeting held on Sept. 10.

Heilman has managed the print shop since August of 2010 and oversees print and mailing jobs for the community as well as the university.

Heilman, who was awarded the Staff Achievement award in December of 2012, was nominated by faculty and staff for being “always eager to help in any situation, especially at the last minute, to complete print jobs with a smile.”

Another of Heilman’s colleagues described him as “possessing a special gift for managing complex printing and mailing jobs with an easy going personality and an eye for detail.”

The Staff Employee of the Year is awarded with a plaque and a performance bonus of $500.

Heilman, who graduated from USAO with bachelor of fine arts degree in graphic design in 2004, worked for the Chickasha Express-Star and Staples before returning to his alma mater.

Kelly Arnold, director of communications and marketing at USAO, is Heilman’s supervisor and described him as “an integral component of our team and, for many, the most visible face of our department.”

“I am constantly receiving compliments from staff, faculty and members of the community who work with Adam through the print shop,” Arnold said. “He brings a real sense of calm to every job, no matter how urgent, and that is invaluable to us.”

The Regents Staff Achievement Award is presented quarterly to one outstanding staff member. From these award winners, a Staff Employee of the Year recipient is selected.

--> -->