USAO presents inaugural Drover Awards during fall 2019 term

USAO presents inaugural Drover Awards during fall 2019 term
New awards celebrate service to community, creative problem-solving and critical thinking

During the fall 2019 term, the University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma handed out its inaugural Drover Awards, which celebrate students who have done outstanding work on campus, in the community, or shown exceptional skills in creative problem solving and critical thinking.

“It is of critical importance that we make every effort to recognize the tremendous work that our students do every day,” said USAO President John Feaver. “The young people who have earned these awards have given an incalculable amount of energy in the service of this institution’s educational and civic ideals, far beyond that which is normally expected of college students. They serve as a shining example to their peers and to anyone else seeking to understand that value of what we do at USAO.”

The Green and Gold Award recognizes those who show their USAO pride by excelling in academic pursuits, encouraging school spirit, and volunteering both on- and off-campus at games and other special events.

Green and Gold Award

Hayley Allen

Butch Hampton

Haddon McIntosh

Bailey Johnson

Syrena Wallenberg

Kaycee Ward

Ashlee Williamson

The Good Neighbor Award recognizes students who develop relationships with their neighbors and strive to embody a commitment to giving back to society. They also live purposely by educating themselves and other students through exemplary leadership, organization and hospitality.

Good Neighbor Award

Trevor McAlister

The Drover Difference Maker Award recognizes a student who has taken strides to make a difference in the lives of those they come into contact with on campus and who truly demonstrates why it’s great to be part of the USAO family.

Drover Difference Maker Award

Cody Corser

The Outstanding Student Employee Award recognizes outstanding contributions by a student employee to a department or office at USAO.

Outstanding Student Employee Award

Favour Oyebami

The Kaleidoscope Award recognizes an out-of-the-box program that educates, solves a problem and/or improves the USAO community in a significant way. The program must be innovative, creative, unique and resourceful, and may solve a problem or address an issue in a way that exemplifies excellence as well as the mission of USAO.

Kaleidoscope Award

Psychology Club

The Unsung Hero Award recognizes a student who works behind the scenes of a successful student organization, athletic team, or residential community and who consistently goes above and beyond the call of duty on a regular basis without expectation of recognition.

Unsung Heroes Award

Matthew Brooks

Cora Clegg

Lynsey Karraker

Denise Kimball 

The Rising Star Award recognizes a first- or second-year student who has yet to hold an executive position in a student organization but has demonstrated great promise in the area of leadership by taking initiative and making a positive impact on that organization.

Rising Star Award

Jeffie Buster

Yenifer Cifuentes

Arlette Melendez

Alyssa Unsell

Sidney Wilson 

The Drover Award is a prestigious honor for senior student leaders who have demonstrated outstanding leadership, a strong commitment to USAO’s mission and dedication to fostering a positive and inclusive environment over the course of their career at the university.

Drover Award

Will Baird

Karlie Bonds

Veronica Bryant

Hannah Cannon

Kylea Caughman

Cody Corser

Hannah Freeman

Tatum Kuhn

Trevor McAlister

Favour Oyebami

Laura Randall

Edgar Tafoya

Andreanna Turner

Baylee Upchurch 

John H. Feaver Award

Edgar Tafoya

--> -->