Innovations 2011 awards young Oklahoma artists for excellence

Alexis Allen’s “Tools of the Trade” won the Best in Show award in the Innovations 2011 art competition. The awards, which were given out March 11 featured work submitted from 18 different schools.

Innovations 2011 awards young Oklahoma artists for excellence



More than 110 students faced off recently at Innovations, an annual high school art competition held at the University of Science and Arts. Students from around the state competed in the art exhibit held exclusively for high school juniors and seniors.


USAO’s art faculty assessed 196 entries in order to assign 18 awards of merit, 10 judges’ choice awards and one award for best in show.

This year’s Best in Show prize was awarded to Alexis Allen of Alva for her photograph entitled, “Tools of the Trade.”


According to Jacquelyn Knapp, associate professor of art, “Tools of the Trade” stood out as a winner because, “it was striking as an image, featuring good composition, good design, excellent print work and it was professionally presented.”


The awards, which were given out March 11 in a ceremony held in the Third Floor Gallery at USAO, featured work submitted from 18 different schools. Judges’ choice winners were awarded $50. The Best in Show award is $100.


“Art entered into Innovations 2011 displays a great deal of talent by High school students across the state,” Knapp observed.


“The USAO art department is proud to offer this opportunity for students to make connections with the art faculty and to become familiar with the art program at USAO.”


USAO student Wendy Chambers recalled her own participation in Innovations, noting “it played a really big role in my process when deciding to attend USAO as an art student.”


Chambers’ piece won the Judge’s Choice and she received an award of merit in 2008.


Art scholarships at USAO are available. For more information, contact Kent Lamar, professor of art, at (405) 574-1302.


The winners for Innovations 2011 were as follows:

Best In Show

Alva- Alexis Allen


Awards of Merit

Alva- Cody Rader, Jacob Ellis

Bethel- Makayla Green

Carl Albert- Tasha Morrow, Soheil Golestanipanah

Chickasha- Jordan White, Ben Sanders, Amanda DeLong

Cyril- Erica Wise

Elgin- Megan Holmgren

Kingfisher- Paige Kannady

Kingston- Derawanda Beasely, Cierra Eastep

Mountain View/Gotebo- Antonia Belindo

Mustang- Amanda Dely

Wayne- Kandith Garcia

Wynnewood- Priscilla Platzer


Judges’ Choice

Alva- Tim Harris, Henry Nighswonger

Bethel- Makayla Green, Megan Acklin

Carl Albert- Soheil Golestanipanah

Chickasha- Jordan White

Elgin- Megan Holmgren

Mustang- Amanda Dely, Stacy Robertson

Wynnewood- Denyae Orey

--> -->