Lamar to receive Young Alumni award

Dr. Angus Lamar is one of two recipients of the Young Alumni award at this year’s Alumni Homecoming festivities at USAO. Additional information, including registration, is available online at

Lamar to receive Young Alumni award


Just 12 years after graduating from the University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma, Dr. Angus Lamar’s resume reads like someone with many more years of experience.

In November, he will receive the USAO Alumni Association’s Young Alumni Award as part of the Alumni Homecoming festivities.

Registrations are being accepted at the USAO Alumni Development Office, (405) 574-1290. An all-inclusive registration package is available for $65 per person through Oct. 25, which includes all meals.

Additional information, including registration, is available online at

Lamar graduate from USAO in 2002 with a chemistry degree. He went on to complete his Ph.D. in organic chemistry from the University of Oklahoma.

Lamar also completed post-doctorial studies in organic/organometallic chemistry at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia.

He is an assistant professor of chemistry at Hanover College (Indiana) and became the chemistry department chair in August 2014.

He teaches general chemistry, organic chemistry and special topics chemistry courses and accompanying labs. He has been the author/co-author of several grants and provides leadership, supervision and direction of research group endeavors.

“As an educator, (Angus) is a source of great pride and whatever contribution I made to his development has been repaid many times,” said Dr. Darryel Reigh, professor emeritus of chemistry at USAO. “In my 30-plus years at USAO, I have experienced a handful of truly outstanding students, but none could more perfectly represent the Young Alumni Award than Dr. Angus Lamar.”

Lamar has written several research publications in professional journals and made numerous professional presentations. He co-holds a patent for “Processes for the Preparation of Amides and Peptides via Amide Bond Formation and Compositions Related Thereto.”

He has received Jerry J. Zuckerman Award for outstanding graduate research in organometallic chemistry twice.

He is a member of the American Chemical Society and Indiana Academy of Science.

--> -->